Valeriy Fedorov

General Director of the Russian Public Opinion Research Centre


Born on September 11, 1974 in Tver.

Graduated from the Department of Political Science of the Faculty of Philosophy at Lomonosov Moscow State University in 1996, and undertook postgraduate studies there in 1998, studying "the history and theory of political science."

From 1991 to 1993, he worked at the Institute of mass political movements of the Russian-American University.

From 1993 to 2003, he worked at the Centre for Current Politics in Russia as: Researcher in 1993-1995, Head of Information and Analytical Department in 1995-1997, Deputy Director in 1997-2000, Deputy Director General in 2000-2003.

At the same time he was a research associate at the Institute of Social and Political Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences (ISPS RAS) from 1997 to 2003, and then head of the Centre for Social Information ISPR RAS between 2003 and 2006.

Since September 2003, he has worked as the General Director of the Russian Public Opinion Research Centre. At the same time he has been the head of the Scientific Council of the Russian Public Opinion Research Centre,

Member of the Board of Directors of the Russian Public Opinion Research Centre (since 2006), and the chief editor of the magazine "Monitor. Social and economic change" (since 2003).

Since 2009, he has been a Candidate of Political Science, and professor at the Higher School of Economics.

He conducts research and teaching activities at leading universities in Russia (HSE, the FA of the Russian Government, MGIMO, Russian State Humanitarian University, Moscow State University, RSSU).

Author of a number of books and many articles in the sphere of Political Science, Sociology and Public Opinion.

Is a member of national and international, professional, scientific and expert communities: "Expert Council of the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs", "Union of Russian Sociologists", "Civil Society", and others.

He was awarded the "Order of Friendship" in 2014, the "For merit to the Fatherland" medal, 2nd class in 2008, and has received the gratitude of the President of the Russian Federation.